Consumers are faced with increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

The world is becoming a competitive place. Hence, to survive the competition, businesses come up with innovative advertisements. Although it should focus on the utility of the product, nowadays it contains harmful facts. This essay will discuss that how consumer behaviour is influenced by them as well as will also discuss possible ways out to overcome this that are mainly enablement of stricter acts and educating the people. Firstly, the advertisements have an enormous impact on the way customer behaves. The colourful digital content frequently portrays beneficial usage of the product. Thus, without much,knowledge humans believe them. For example, although the food of KFC is labelled as unhealthy by various countries, buyers do not pay much attention to such alerts. This is mainly due to the attractive story that their advertisement communicates. Henceforth, I believe that the public receives an erroneous message from them which influence their purchasing habits. However, the introduction of proper regulatory laws, as well as spreading awareness in society can solve the long-term problem. The government should set up a regulatory body that will monitor all of them before they are released for the citizens, as well as they should also check the content of it. Besides that, a mass education camp about numerous daily use commodities should be launched. These events should focus on educating the commoners on the utility of commonly used things. For instance, paracetamol tablets, are available in the market with numerous brandings. Although the work of it is same, some of them are expensive. As we are not aware of the generic names; thus, we trust the advertisements and buy the costly ones. Moreover, if we watch the TV commercials of such companies, they are misleading. Henceforth, the authorities should investigate such cases, and ensure that the fallacious facts are not getting communicated through the mass media. To conclude, in my opinion, humans are mesmerized by things that they see visually every day. Therefore, such visuals play a vital role in their shopping patterns. Hence, it is the responsibility of the governing bodies to administer advertisement and to protect the habitats of a country by teaching them, so that they do not fall into misleading traps.