All education and healthcare should be funded by the government and free for everyone To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

Healthcare and education are two of the main pillars for the growth of a country’s society. Therefore, few people would object that these are essential necessities that should be guaranteed by the governments. In this essay, I will explain why these two people’s needs ought to be guaranteed for free not only from an ethical standpoint but also as a form of investment from every country willing to evolve. Despite being one of the main person’s rights, health is not guaranteed to everybody even in the most advanced nations. This of course may sound like a clever government policy from an economic standpoint, even though it is quite unfair. For example, in the U.S. and in Canada, only those who can afford an insurance policy have access to hospitals and, for those who don’t, the expenses in case of a hospital stay would be prohibitive. Of course, it is unacceptable for evolved countries to exchange human rights for economic revenue. In Italy, for instance, basic health care is guaranteed to every citizen at the full expense of the government. Although being more costly on one hand, this kind of policy is still affordable with a wiser funding reorganization on the other. Likewise, access to universities is unbearably expensive in many countries of Europe and in the U.S. The reason for that is that these countries do not want to direct their expenses on education, a field that apparently does not have immediate revenue. While ensuring high-quality education and accommodations for the students, this system could leave out several talents that, despite having excellent potential, cannot afford to pay all the university fees or for some reasons did not manage to get a scholarship. For instance, several epidemiologic studies have shown that many intelligent talents, the so-called “brains”, must emigrate to find another country to host them and permit them to complete their study course to obtain a fruitful job position afterwards. This, in the end, translates into a loss for the country of origin which did not invest in these people, providing them easy access to the highest degrees of education. Still, to date, too many countries, even the most developed, have failed to guarantee free access to university and hospital care for their population. This dissertation briefly reviewed why health and education should be a fundamental investment for any advanced country’s government. In fact, while being an indubitable expense at a first sight, these can transform into precious resources in terms of economic and humanitarian progress in the long run.