Some parents believe that their children should do educational activities during their free time. Others say that in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is often thought that extra-curricular activities should be done by children after school, other parents may think that children are under pressure. In my opinion, I believe that extra-curricular activities can help children improve their social skills, which can be beneficial for them in their future working life. On the one hand, some parents agree that children who participate in extra-curricular activities can gain higher social skills, and I admit it. That is to say, extra-curricular activities, such as community services and sports, can be beneficial for children. One clear example is that children are able to communicate and cooperate with each other when they interact during extra-curricular activities. Moreover, social skills and teamwork are crucial skills that children ought to master, as these skills have become vital skills in the workplace, children who can manage these skills can be more competitive in the workplace. Therefore, children must participate in extra-curricular activities after school. On the other hand, it may be argued that children who do extra-curricular activities after school may be under pressure. That is to say, adding pressure on children is not healthy for them, whether it is for their physical health or mental health. For instance, children who have a lot of stress may develop anxiety disorders and suffer from headaches. Additionally, some children are already overloaded with their homework, forcing extra-curricular activities on children would neither reduce their pressure of homework nor promote their independence or autonomy. Thus, forcing children to do extra-curricular activities after school may not help them gain any other skills, or may have adverse effects on their health. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that children should be called to participate in extra-curricular activities after school so that they can gain the necessary skills and benefit from it.