Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Increasingly more students decide nowadays to continue their course of study abroad. While there are several benefits in terms of learning a new language as well as adapting to a new social structure, on the other side this entails more costs and isolation from friends and family. In my opinion, there is an overall convenience in studying abroad despite the coexistence of some downfalls. The main advantages of studying abroad reside mainly in more linguistical and social adaptation skills. On one side, learning a new language can be useful for young people’s careers as they look forward to improving their job position. Accordingly, several reports show how people who know more than one language have an overall better income by the age of forty. Furthermore, adapting to a new social structure is a skill necessary for any working experience abroad. For instance, having already lived abroad makes it easier for workers to adapt to newer and unusual environments. Dominating a vast range of languages and being able to adapt to different cultural environments are major rewards to reap while studying in a foreign country. The negative aspects of living in a foreign country are a basically higher economic burden on students and their families alongside the loneliness of living away from one’s family and friends. Attending university courses abroad means more expenses in terms of travelling money and room rentals. For example, the plane tickets cost at least a hundred euros for many foreign destinations not to mention the room rental fees. In addition to that, the students will be away from their relatives and loved ones will feel a sense of desolation and loneliness. For instance, several Erasmus students feel homesick and many of those who are in a relationship experience a breakup due to the distance. Therefore, it’s undeniable that living abroad has several downfalls in terms of money and relationships. In conclusion, more than ever university students decide to complete their degrees overseas. Despite having a strong impact in terms of economic burden and distance from family, this decision could repay with a strong benefit on language knowledge and flexibility. Weighing the pros and the cons of this kind of choice, I think that studying abroad is the better option for young and industrious students.