Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree.

Modern society is witnessing the dilemma of how to tackle new age-related and lifestyle-related health problems. Many hold the view that, while research and disease treatment are too expensive, prevention policies are the best direction for government fundings. In this essay, I will acknowledge this idea and explain why I firmly agree. There is no doubt that scientific advancements in the medical field as well as healthcare are two of the costliest voices in a government paybook. The main reason for that is the high expense for medical staff, sophisticated instruments and advanced medication, needed to treat critical diseases. For example, the average stay for myocardial infarction, a way preventable disease, ranges from 20.000 to 30.000 dollars. Secondly, the cost of the development of new drugs far outweighs the financial possibilities of many governments. It is well known, in fact, that only developed countries can afford the production and the distribution of advanced drugs. For these reasons, few would disagree that pharmaceutical investments and hospital supply are one of the heaviest duties for all the governments worldwide. In light of this, most of the educated people claim that prevention is the best way to tackle health issues. First of all, preventive measures are virtually inexpensive if not advantageous for everybody’s finances. For example, avoiding cigarette smoking, while being helpful on family budgets, it has proven to be vital in reducing the costs on the countries’ economies worldwide. Secondly, only avoiding a disease through healthy interventions can totally preserve one’s fitness. For instance, no medication can restore the damages of myocardial infarction, whereas avoiding it is the only way to preserve hearth functionality. Therefore, there is no doubt that earlier interventions are fare better than treating. In conclusion, it is becoming clear that, if preventive measures became the priority for the leaders of countries worldwide, the expenditure for hospitals and research would drastically fall. In this essay, I explained why prevention is the best option over disease treatment and research.