The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

The use of fossil fuels has increased in the last few decades. Many hold the view that more should be done to explore better alternatives to fossil fuels. I agree fully, and I believe that more research should be done with the regard to greener energy sources. The use of fossil fuels has a detrimental effect not only on climate change, but also on marine life and the air quality. It is important to look at ways how to stop fracking, mining, deep-sea drilling and other effects that are damaging the environment. Indeed, just by,stoping oil drilling will make a huge impact on marine life. For example, if one looks at the catastrophic and far-reaching effect that the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico had on the marine-life. It cost the governments and BP investors millions of dollars to try clean the ocean where the oil spill took place. It is important that more investigation is done into greener energy sources. If the curbing of fossil fuels and the extraction and use can be replaced by greener energy sources then it will have a good impact globally. Greener energy sources such as solar, wind and hydro systems are available, however, they don't generate enough energy for vast quantities of nations. Also, the installation of solar panels for households and businesses are quite expensive. Another factor is that energy generated by wind can be unpredictable at times especially if there is no a wind. It is therefore important for the governments, organisations and individuals to look at this matter and investigate how greener energy sources can become less expensive and long-lasting. In conclusion, it is important to look at alternative energy sources as fossil fuels have a negative impact on Earth. More should be done to improve greener energy sources.