In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve the problem?

Amidst the increase in a struggle to manage waste properly and efficiently, individuals nowadays are less likely to recycle various products imposing a threat to the environment and future population. The key reasons behind this and possible solutions are discussed in this essay. Although the general mass knows the benefits, very few are keen to recycle or take responsibility to do so. Firstly, the process is strenuous, especially for those working on the lower tier of the supply chain. Slightest residue, contaminants left in products such as shampoo bottles can disrupt the entire procedure. Moreover, such a process is water expensive, leading to depletion of the groundwater table. Secondly, products made after the process are not always accepted because of the difference in quality standards. For elucidation, FDA in the USA allows the use of remanufactured goods only after the criteria has been approved. However, certain initiatives taken upon an individual level to educate the workers, improve their skill and ability to segregate wash and manage waste properly can up to a certain extent resolve the issue. Additionally, government interference can radically transform the current issues. Issuing clearly defined guidelines, objectives to companies involved can mutually benefit. Startups like Banyan Nation can with the help of administration efforts disrupt the present market. So to conclude, although it is less convenient for rural workers to engage themselves in the process, a shift in the skillset, mindset can eradicate such an issue unfolding many advantages later on.