Tourism has increased so much over the last 50years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that the increase in tourism is fast becoming a disadvantage to the residents and society, while some schools of thought suggest that it has a positive effect on the economy. In this essay, I will be discussing the benefit and drawbacks, and give my opinion. On the one hand, international tourism benefits an individual and also society. Individuals learn new cultures and traditions from touring different countries and states. Besides, some persons develop an interest in either the language, food, music or dance, thereby, gaining insight into new things that can be used to improve their environment. For example, I had a trip to Dubai some time ago and I was taken around the city on a tour. Moreover, I learnt new skills and ideas. When I returned, I shared these ideas on hotel management with a friend who owns a hotel thus, improving the customer service and general management. On the other hand, the economical effects on tourism cannot be totally ignored. Tourism weighs greatly on the individual's economy by increasing the expenses on the person's budget. Furthermore, some individuals take adventure as their hobby without thinking of the economic cost. As a result, the one spending is left with an economic burden. For instance, my sister travels every month to different countries on tour not minding the cost and economic effect of these numerous trips. Thus, leaving the husband with so many bills to pay. In conclusion, although touring has its advantages and disadvantages, I believe that it benefits the economy of society greatly.