Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the Internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

The advancements in technology have allowed people to watch pirated movies. Some people hold the view that the opportunity to watch movies or read books without any charge is a positive development, while others argue in contrast to that. The upcoming essay tends to discuss both perspectives and I will explain why I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Undoubtedly, this progress has brought tremendous benefits for the public. Due to this advancement, people can watch or download innumerable films just by spending a few megabytes, otherwise, we would have to spend several dollars to watch a film. This money can be used for other purposes like for education and for medical needs. For instance, a person from a middle-class family can not live such an extravagant lifestyle as they have to keep account of every penny. Secondly, it would increase the popularity of the novel or the film as viewers regardless of their financial status would have free access to those copyrighted materials. On the other hand, the owners will suffer financially because humans would no longer buy their works. Piracy not only affects the producers but every single person who works in the industry. Copyright infringement literally snatches the bread of hundreds of workers who worked their fingers to bones to create these music, videos and books. For example, in the recent years, the box-office collection of movies has declined as a greater proportion of audience prefer to watch it at no cost. To conclude, watching pictures without charge is no less than stealing. We have no right to take away the source of income of those workers for our benefits. Therefore, I certainly believe that it is a negative development.