Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extend do you agree?

Nowadays, one of the main questions related to school is the disciplines that can be optional. A lot of people define mathematics and philosophy as difficult subjects to learn and I totally disagree with the statement so in this essay I will elaborate on my point of view. The first reason why such subjects should be compulsory is the development of logic. The majority of subjects develop the brain in various spheres which are followed by a vast spectrum of job opportunities and careers in future. For example, maths helps expand your analytical and critical thinking and it is a good skill in the modern world as not everyone wants to develop it. Furthermore, people deal with calculations in everyday life, so leaving mathematics as an option is definitely not a great idea. In addition, pupils who devote their time to understand the information are mostly more successful than those who do not do this. Life is about challenges and problems that sometimes can be really hard to tackle. However, philosophy helps to puzzle out diverse types of personalities, ways and processes of thinking. Such acquired habits can be really useful to understand the negative and positive sides of a person when meeting. For instance, with this knowledge, it will be easier to know what is inside someone quickly. To sum up, there is no doubt that philosophy and maths are tricky subjects compared to others. Nevertheless, they ought not to be on the list of optional subjects as they play a key role in the development of personality, intelligence and critical thinking.