Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some individuals argue that the death penalty controls serious felonies of taking place and increase society security. The paragraphs below will outline a strong agreement with this statement, as it diminishes the number of offenders returning to social living and impedes the remaining ones of offending. To begin with, the main reason why I think that the maintenance of the death penalty in society is important is due to the fact that it would avoid felony perpetrators to return to social living. For instance, serious transgressions such as rape, murder, kidnapping and pedophilia have high rate of relapse in the first months after liberation, indicating that these criminals might probably repeat their crime. As a permanent solution, the capital punishment institution would decrease the possibility of meeting a former prisioner whose offenses were classified as heinous, thus, our lives would be more secure. Furthermore, another reason why I deem important the capital punishment institution to control the numbers of offenders is because it would encourage people to hesitate before committing a transgression. Psychologically speaking, people who have committed any of the above-mentioned criminal wrongdoings are mainly diagnosed as sociopaths that are not capable of understading other people's feelings, assisting them to not feel guilty or regret after hurting someone deeply. Although, sociopaths are able to fear for themselves. Therefore, the death penalty is also fundamental to control crimes of violence by the fear of dying as a consequence. To conclude, I strongly agree that without capital punishment, living in community would be less secure and more serious offenses would take place, as it would possibly liberate criminals whose crimes have high relapse rate and fear of dying would not be a additional motive of stopping sociopaths.