Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, it is extremely common to see media chasing celebrities. Some people think that this has had an adverse impact on children as they tend to strive for an extravagant lifestyle. However, this is not always the case as there have been instances where it has motivated many teenagers to achieve greater heights in life. To begin with, news reporters covering day-to-day activities of celebrities have lured the youth into following a lavish lifestyle. For example, several media houses recently showed live footage of a house-party held at popular Bollywood producer, Karan Johar’s residence where people were seen consuming alcohol and drugs. Due to this, adolescents who consider these actors as their role-models start consuming banned substances as a form of recreation for themselves. Therefore, people who are of the opinion that unnecessary coverage of celebrities have a negative impact on the youth, do have a valid point. On the contrary, certain channels have covered the lives of successful sportsmen that is full of hardship, and this has been a source of inspiration for a number of teenagers. To illustrate, recently a renowned sports journalist Boria Majumdar had conducted an interview with Rani Rampal who leads the Women’s hockey team for India. Children felt highly inspired listening to how she overcame her struggles in her childhood and bailed her family out of poverty by playing hockey. Since a child starts believing what he sees; therefore, in my opinion, if parents can monitor the media coverage of famous personalities that he is exposed to, it need not necessarily have an adverse impact on him. To conclude, excessive and unwarranted coverage of renowned personalities by news channels is extremely common nowadays. Some are of the opinion that this has led the youth into inculcating habits that are deemed inappropriate. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that the impact is not always negative, as there have been occasions where children are inspired seeing some of their footages and strive for excellence in their lives.