"It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

In modern pedagogy, disputes do not stop not only about the appropriateness of the application of punishment, but also about who, where, how much, how and for what purpose to punish. There is no definite answer to these questions to this day. Some educators believe that it is necessary to punish more often, especially in preschool and primary school age, in order to develop correct behaviour habits. Others advise resort to punishment very rarely, in exceptional cases. And there are those who are convinced that true upbringing is upbringing without any punishment. Raising a child consists not only of positive aspects of relationships (approval, praise, encouragement), but also negative ones (censure, prohibition, punishment). Therefore, punishment and reward are a kind of lever in the educational process. But we must not close our eyes to the realities of today. Children, while growing up, naturally make many mistakes, sometimes gross, causing material and moral damage to others (vandalism, cruelty to people, animals), and such actions should not be unnoticed. It is another matter that the traditions of authoritarian education (family, kindergarten, school) are still strong in pedagogy, where, unfortunately, teachers and parents attach particular importance to punishment. Although we know that its incorrect use can cause irreparable harm to the child's psyche.