News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Most of the time, news broadcasted on screens as well as events published in newspapers have usually a main headline but also a picture. The images are argued by some to be more intriguing than words. I am personally convinced that this statement is without a doubt true and there are multiple reasons why it is so. Obviously, when viewers and readers check the news, their first instincts are to look up for images. Normally, this instantly gives them an overview of the situation because illustrations are much easier to conceive. As for the illiterates, a photo included helps them to better understand the contents in the article. Even children can have the chance to stay connected to imminent stories. As a result, the majority of the population globally can be updated with the aid of an illustration on each stories. Another reason that the effectiveness of pictures over words is viewers are more interested when the article is dramatised. A provocative headline along with a stimulating visual arouses them and brings to their attention. This strategy applied by journals consequently causes a stir among the crowds and can even becomes the most talked subject of the day. For instance, when it comes to tragic news such as violence or crimes, newspapers have to habit of inserting a portrait of the culprit just to put more fuel to fire. As a result, the audience are more impacted by representations as compared to words. In conclusion, pictures are easier for the brain to memorise and they are used as weapons to gain attention. Be that as it may, words can also be effective for a small percentage of readers.