Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

The idea of expanding upwards to accommodate surging urban populations has become progressively contentious as some city planners claim that we ought to expand horizontally. In my opinion, whilst urban sprawl is legitimate, the former is a better solution. The most frequently cited rationale for spread-out cities is that they bring a better quality of life. Condensed urban areas like Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City are notorious for pernicious effects to the citizenry on sanitation, safety and traffic conditions. Compare this with one of the salient illustrations of decentralised cities such as Bac Giang and Bac Ninh, which allow for the development of unique individual neighbourhoods, increased space for residential construction and fewer matters listed above. I believe that human beings tend to prefer their living space to be wider. Overall, this reform can have a carry-on effect on the future generation as they would face less the chaos of life. Albeit I concede the merits of horizontal cities like the one mentioned, I would still contend that focused residential areas have resultant benefits for the area around the city. By building more skyscrapers for people to live in, the surrounding can be preserved or used for economical growth. This can be apparently seen in the coastal city of Da Nang, which has grouped its residential areas to a particular place and enabled major corporations to invest in the surplus land to construct theme parks, airports and chains of resorts and luxury hotels to attract overseas visitors. Had the city done differently, it would not have been prosperous as it is currently, offering jobs for millions of people in jeopardy and becoming one of the wealthy regions in Vietnam. Therefore, encouraging centralised cities confers a valid standpoint as we have witnessed the clear and tangible benefit to the general populace. In conclusion, the value of horizontal cities cannot outweigh that of vertical cities as they do wonders for improved regional economic prosperity. In my final thought, governors and city planners should propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance and mitigate further severity of the presented urban issues.