People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living. Up to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is often believed that, being proficient in the English language helps us to secure a high paying job, further; it leads to a better lifestyle. I completely disagree with this statement; as, it is nothing more than a mode of communication. Firstly, we will discuss how this expression of speech is not an important factor and sometimes might be a drawback, secondly, we will talk about, why good communication skills might help you get a job, but later can adversely impact your personal life instead of uplifting. To begin with, the large number of corporate requires experience holder bundled with in-depth knowledgeable employees, rather than, good speakers. Furthermore, there is a large number of states, where a regional language is preferred over others, while selecting a candidate. To illustrate, I was rejected in an interview in CITI bank in Darbhanga, Bihar, because they wanted a regional language speaker. Thus, it is irrational to say that mastery in one language can help us to capitalize on an opportunity. On the other hand, one may win a good post through speaking fluently in the British style, whereas, he does lack in basic knowledge with respect to that work profile plus might not be able to justify his salary, as, he was selected on a criterion which were irrelevant to this profile. Gradually, it will lead him to performance pressure, which indirectly will ruin his professional life. For instance, Ernst and Young hire every fresher as a management trainee, whereas, they hired me as an audit executive, as i was having an edge over others in expressing myself. Though my salary was ample, but I was not well-versed with the required audit techniques. I left the job after 3 months, as it turned out to be highly depressing for me. Therefore, it is the relevant qualification bundled with experience that matters, not speech. To recapitulate, one must be capable of meeting the requirements of the job, to seize a good compensating opportunity, rather than, being an expert in English.