Q. Some people say that school children should learn how to grow food and cook with it in their lessons. What is your opinion about that?

In the contemporary era, agricultural and culinary techniques are considered to be important survival skills that should be mastered by everyone. Consequently, I along with a stratum of society believe that these skills should be inculcated in children at school so that they will understand the significance of a healthy diet. This essay will discuss the supporting arguments with relevant examples. Introduction of agriculture to young kids at school has greater benefits. Firstly, it would develop skills related to cultivation and planting various kinds of crops at an early age which would help them to understand the nutritional values of a wide range of food products. To illustrate, Nishiachi Elementary School in Japan updated their curriculum in 2015 by introducing food education in each grade which stresses on growing vegetables and cooking methods. Secondly, if children develop an interest in these skills, they might pursue their careers in this field. This might curb the hunger crisis around the world when more people choose farming as their profession. Furthermore, teaching cooking to pupils provides an opportunity to train them with the importance of nutritional and healthy food. Irrefutably, unhealthy fast food joints are popular among students. However, when youths learn how to cook at schools they will be able to maximize the value of nutrients by selecting organic and healthy ingredients. Moreover, this method might trigger an interest in some students to take cooking as a career. For instance, British celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay, in an interview revealed that his childhood cooking experience motivated him to become a chef in the later stage. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that the introduction of farming and methods to cook food in schools will tackle the health problems such as obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases due to the consumption of processed food. This will benefit humanity in a long run.