Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for ex.., through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, technology has been used by companies or organisations to track the daily activities of people, either what they say or do. This has been made possible by technologies such as installed cameras and tracking devices on phones. In this essay, I will discuss why the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. To begin with, giant companies like Google have used their technological power by tracking online activities for marketing reasons. In most cases, the data they obtain is transmitted to marketers, who end up spamming us with products or services, which we do not intend to buy or procure. By searching, for example, the best TV manufacturers, different types of TV will be splashed on our Facebook timelines, and in such circumstances, we find ourselves buying things that we do not need, hence wasting our savings. Government agencies have also infringed our rights to privacy by monitoring our movements. Investigative arms of governments around the world most of the time have engaged in these illegal activities of surveilling citizens for political reasons. As such, we end losing the rights and freedoms that we enjoy. A good example of a mass surveillance case we have heard of is the CIA monitoring American citizens. In my opinion, technology has made it possible for organisations, governments, and even criminals to invade our privacy and harms us. Some organisations like Facebook have become so powerful that the regulators are struggling to tame them. People should use softwares like VPN to protect their privacy while surfing. To summarize, technology is being weaponized by different players and the casualties are mostly innocent people. It is, therefore, paramount, for instance, for internet users to take protective measures when using various technologies.