Some people believe that unpaid community services should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that high school students should be engaged in voluntary services to the society mandatorily. I totally agree with this idea and will discuss my reasons in this essay. Firstly, one of the reasons I think students should be actively involved in unpaid community services is that it prepares them for tasks in the future. While children still live with parents/guardians and have little or no need for extra money, they should be made to render services like keeping the surrounding clean, working with charity organizations etc. by so doing, they learn the act of working and gather up experience that will be useful to them later. An example of this is a renowned librarian in new York named Thomas Billy who spent his free time and holidays while in high school helping out in a library, keeping books and arranging in their respective shelves for free. Today he is using that skill set he had and is paying off as a librarian. Secondly, I feel pupils should be involved in voluntary acts like teaching younger children because by teaching, they are being taught. That is, when people are obligated to pass on knowledge to the upcoming, they strive to know it better and be good at it and when they teach it, they unconsciously get better at it and have fun alongside. For example, a school boy in Zimbabwe who enjoys teaching younger students how to play chess emerged as a champion in a national chess competition in 2010. That is to say, more children should be engaged in services like these in schools. To conclude, a number of people feel children should be engaged in free works for the community as part of their educational curriculum and I totally agree with it because it helps them learn better and also prepares them for the life ahead.