Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. (IELTS 9, AC)

There is a popular belief among the linguistic experts that, students will benefit more from learning a non-native language in elementary classes rather than in the higher grades. This may be because young brains are known to be more receptive and less distracted compared to adolescent minds. The impending essay will delve more into this matter and check any possible drawbacks. Firstly, pupils in the elementary classes have less burden of other curriculum subjects, which in turn helps them to study an extra language with less effort. Secondary class students have many major projects and assignments that they seldom get enough time for leisure or extra study. Secondly, scientists have proven that, our intellect functions most efficiently during childhood and this capacity slowly deteriorates with age. For instance, in a study conducted by the World Education Council among the students of ten different schools in Tokyo, Japan, it was evident that, children less than five years old could better grasp new dialects the older students. Having said this, we cannot deny the fact there are many prospective candidates to universities that take on extra language after primary classes. This is attributed mainly due to personal interests or in the best interests of a career abroad. For example, immigrants to Canada are granted additional scores depending on their fluency in the French language, thus justifying the choice to learn a new converse after coming of age. Briefly, it would be wise to acknowledge the fact that vernacular skills are better acquired in the early days rather than in senior high school.