The news media have too much influence on peoples lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the advancement of news media is an adverse development as it has been influencing the public these days to a great extent. I completely disagree with this statement and will explain it in this essay with pertinent examples. To begin with, the public press is the most common way of receiving worldwide news. It helps individuals to stay up-to-date with current events happening in the world. For instance, recently in Afghanistan, the Taliban took over replacing US troops and this information spread like fire around the globe due to the press. This could help thousands of people to escape their country due to assistance received from various countries. Broadcast journalism plays a major role in keeping the public aware in terms of new diseases and vaccines. Advertisements and public awareness announcements are usually telecasted when people watch the bulletin which informs viewers about such ailments. For example, in the recent scenario of covid, as the virus was already a novel kind and there was not much information available, the presence of journalism made things easier for the general public to be conscious of. There is no denying that all broadcast sources cannot be trusted nowadays. They often give biased opinions on political discussions which could negatively impact human beings. They tend to hide the whole truth for their own benefit, especially if related to political parties. This could adversely affect the election results. To conclude, although the media is not a reliable source every time, yet we cannot outlook their benefits. They keep us informed of the latest news and bring people ‘s attention to new diseases which would be impossible without broadcast journalism.