Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The logic that some nations should be self-sufficient in their food production and import as minimal as possible has become progressively contentious. In my opinion, while this reform might not be feasible in certain countries, the economical implications it would bring are more convincing. The most frequently cited rationale against this trend is that few countries purely import foods to ensure their survival. These countries suffer from numerous potential catastrophes that pose pernicious effects on their farms and local produce. One of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in myriad countries in Southeast Asia and the Middle East, which not only have poorly developed infrastructure and little arable soil but also are vulnerable to natural disasters. They have to import and stockpile foods such as rice to prepare themselves for the worst. Had these nations done differently, they would have starved the entire citizenry in the unlikely event and provoked a detrimental impact on national economic prosperity. Albeit I concede that this notion is not viable in some circumstances like the one mentioned, I would still contend that the economy of countries adopting this will be better served. More production within a nation means more job offers for people, especially those in jeopardy, and consuming these domestic goods and services inherently means feeding the national economy. This can be most apparently seen in the home country of technology giants like Samsung and LG - Korea, where the majority of products are nationally produced. Samsung, for instance, has been prominent for its diversity in business ranging from technology to real estate to education to even funeral services, and accounted for a large proportion of the GDP of Korea. Therefore, self-supplying within a country confers a valid standpoint as we have witnessed the clear and tangible benefits to the general populace in Korea. In conclusion, the concern for this idea can be outweighed by its merits as they do wonders for upward economic growth. In my final thought, governors should propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance between imports and exports and mitigate the likely severity of the agriculture-concerned issues.