In many parts of the world, people now often throw things away when they are broken and buy new ones, whereas in the past broken things were repaired and used again. Why do you think this is the case? What problems may it lead to?

Different people have different approaches to life. Across the globe, folks are now discarding things repeatedly when they are damaged, hence, prefer to replace instead of repair as compared to the previous era. There are ample reasons responsible for this attitude, in this essay I will be discussing a few of them along with the issues it can give rise to. To begin with, the primary factor could be the easy availability of items. Nowadays, people have flexible access to shopping such as online with lots of variety to choose from in terms of price and quality. For instance, China has made almost everything at a cheaper cost which was previously available only on branded labels. Moreover, the repairing cost is sometimes higher than to replace. Secondly, while some people are nowadays quite lazy to visit repairing centres others might me too occupied to get it done. Nevertheless, they find throwing away and buying a new one to be more convenient. For example, mobile phones are now so conveniently accessible that it is more complicated and expensive to get them repaired. Lastly, the newer generation does not have much emotional attachment with materialistic things as compared to the past when people used to preserve things or valuables to pass it on to the next generations. There can be some issues related to this as, firstly, in order to meet the demands of people the raw materials are used excessively leading to nature imbalance. For example, the water reservoir is getting depleted used in manufacturing goods. In addition to this, the use and throw policy is creating huge waste which gets accumulated in landfills. Furthermore, the majority of the population is losing the importance of reusable or recyclable goods as everything is so easily available. For example, it is causing a grave concern nowadays to use glass or steel in their households which were used by the people in past as today people are finding using plastics as it is more easy and cheap. To conclude, development in today's world is the leading factor attributed to this whereas in past people use to travel miles to get some goods.Technology has brought a great revolution in society's thinking processes and lifestyle. Nevertheless, there is some negative side of each advancement while it is positive in myriad ways in terms of creating more employment and easy living.