The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

Indubitably, being healthy and fit is considered to be a toughest job for many individuals. It is often argued that the increasing number of obesity in humans is certainly imposing an additional pressure on the healthcare system, and hence a few people believe that fitness must be encouraged through introducing physical training as part of educational curriculum at schools. However, I partially agree to the given notion. Apparently, introducing gymnastics at a young age to realize the importance of staying fit holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To begin with, children comprehend the importance of physical fitness at the nascent stage of their lives and if the courses are conditioned to be mandatory, they will compose practical and theoretical teaching; emphasis on theoretical training will encourage the young minds to pay attention to what they are consuming in a day, how healthy it is for them. Secondly, physical education classes will also inculcate discipline to the disciples, kids will not only learn about fitness but also implement their learnings quite strictly in their lives. To exemplify, a child who learns the repercussions of over-eating, combined with lack of exercise will train themselves to lead a healthy lifestyle for a longer term. On the other hand, to argue that exercises will curb the concern of rapidly growing obesity is not justified. Chiefly because, the primary cause for overweight is the increasing number of fast food outlets, ignorance towards the negative implications of junk food on health is evident with every new outlet that is introduced in the market. Fast food chains can definitely offer healthier alternatives to junk food. Moreover, the lenient attitude of the government towards advertisements that probe people to buy sugary drinks and high- food content must be reprimanded; such advertisements must be controlled or all together be banned. The state must remind the public about the health risks posed by consuming unhealthy foods. To illustrate further, all Indian movies display a statutory warning when they are showing a scene that involves cigarettes or alcohol, similar caution must be replicated when advertisements create hype around unhealthy food habits. To recapitulate, physical training must not be held solely responsible to solve the trouble of obesity, and enough attention must also be given to inhabiting a healthy eating pattern amongst the people.