Without capital punishments (the health penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increases. Capital punishment in essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that the death penalty plays an important role in maintaining peace in society and lower the crime rate. However, some people argue that people who commit crimes punishable by death can still be reformed. This essay agrees with the first statement because fear of death helps maintain order and there is no such thing as second chances for these crimes. To begin with, the thing that is most important to us is our life and the fear of losing it is what stops them from doing those hideous crimes. If even just for an hour capital punishment is removed, people will start killing without any second thought. As they are aware of the fact that they will not be hanged till death for killing someone they hate, instead they will get a second chance to live their lives to the fullest. Moreover, there is no other penalty that comes close enough to be justified for the crime they committed. For example, let's say you killed someone and our justice system believes in second chances. So you are now required to pay like $10,00,000 to the family of the person you killed. Do you think the loved ones of that man will let him walk around freely? No, they will try to kill him. As a result, the era of vigilante will begin, ruining the peace of society. To conclude, I totally agree, that some offences can only be punished by death because no other punishment comes close to doing justice to the victim and without it, the crime rate will go through the roof.