Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Over the past few years, when tourism earns more attention from the public, many voyagers expand their wish lists to remoted areas such as Sahara or Antarctica. There are certain merits regarding this matter is the new experience, but environmental issues would accompany as a demerit, both of which will be discussed in the essay. To begin with, the first benefit of travelling to destinations with harsh conditions can bring an exhilarating experience. From a general scope, tourist destinations nowadays are being monotonous, and not many places can attract more people to budget for. Taking Malibu as an example, formerly, this place was being highly regarded by tourists. However, when the heavy density of people makes the beach severely polluted, not many people prioritize going to Malibu anymore. Hence, some untouched sceneries from other regions may expand the horizon of a voyager and bring the excitement that would not normally be vanished. Secondly, with the help of tourism promotion, the income of some indigenous might be improved. The organization of local tours to some accommodations can be an alternative source of money when some expatriates prefer the unvarnished beauty to mass tourism. For instance, various locals in Alaska have promoted tours in fisheries and iceberg sightseeing to introduce their culture and increase earnings. On the other hand, even though there are positive aspects regarding travelling to novel accommodations, the potential of nature exploitation cannot be excluded as a drawback. When some isolated places being renowned globally, many people will flush in and cause chaos in that area. This might lead to the disruption of the habitat and the normal lives of animals living in the zone. Penguins and polar bears are highly susceptible to the human approach, therefore, having many strangers accumulated in one place will result in the anxiety of species. Furthermore, some adventures might be served as one of the factors to coerce the locals out of their living environment. History has proved that some excursions later turned into colonialism, that the innocents were assimilated and the civilization during the period was eradicated. The movement of some Europeans to the area of Australia nowadays can be seen as an example. To summarize, to every issue, there are disadvantages and disadvantages to taking into consideration. Whether the merits of travelling to some uncivilized sceneries might be intriguing, there are drawbacks such as the potential of pollution and colonialism that should also be regarded.