Public celebrations, such as national days and festivals, are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive, and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

The public way of celebrating significant dates, like national days, festivals and etc, is quite popular around the globe. Some people, nevertheless, consider that these holidays cost huge sums of money, which must be spend on something more essential and beneficial for the whole society. I completely agree that the authorities should spend the taxes of citizens more wisely. Firstly, the celebration preparation, including festive decoration, various shows, and fireworks, can be unreasonably expensive, hence only a large city with a substantial budget can afford it without any harm for development of city’s facilities. Due to the pompous celebrations, the authority bodies cannot have money for renovation and improvement of socially important infrastructure. In Russia, for instance, there is an unspoken governmental tradition to celebrate the day of a city’s establishment in a wide way, when the authorities spend enormous sums of money showing off, meanwhile more important things are kept neglected. Another point to consider is that the positive feelings after the celebration of national holidays do not last long time by contrast with plus effect from renovation of schools, hospitals and roads. Some colourful festivity will make people happy for several days, but the development of infrastructure in their home city will bring citizens more comfortable and safe life and, living in a such place, people will be sure that their taxes are used in a right way. One clear example is the refusal of Norway to be the host of The Olympic Games in 2022. The government made a referendum among the citizens in order to decide to take this big and expensive sport occasion or not. As the result, the majority of the population decided to spend the money on more vital areas. To sum up, the national celebrations should take place in humans routinely, but sufficient life conditions must be a prioritized goal for the authorities. [13:19, 12/03/2024] 😀: Okay. Will check now