People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that the environmental issues must have been solved if the price of crude oil for motor vehicles is raised by the government. From my perspective, this might be an effective measure, but I would argue that other measures might have an even greater impact especially transport policies. If national authorities raised petrol taxes, it would help to cut down on emissions from vehicles and reduce the number of greenhouse gases. Firstly, in terms of private cars or the other vehicles would limit the number and length of journeys to pay for the extra expense. Then, governments could use it to upgrade and expand public transport provision as people still have to travel to work, to school or hospital. Secondly, instead of using trucks to transport, they can provide more freight services in order to reduce traffic on the roads or goods would be transported by rail. Both of these measures would decrease the enormous volume of carbon dioxide, nitrogen compounds that are released directly into the air and damage the atmosphere. On the other hand, raising petrol prices might be a useful stopgap method, to remain in the long term effects, the government has to adopt transport policies. For instance, they can introduce a congestion charge for all vehicles travelling to the city centre like the local authorities in London did, then using the money raised to subsidize the cost of fares and to invest in transport infrastructure. Another policy would be free bus and train tickets to attract more people to use public transport that can reduce pollution and tackle global warming. In conclusion, an acute rise in petrol prices would be an advantageous environmentally – friendly transport measure, even though in the long term other methods would be more forceful.