The internet has vastly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

In recent years, the Internet has been improving by leaps and bounds and as a result, this yields favourable results for countless Internet users. One of the biggest benefits is that it allows people to gain access to information faster and to a greater extent. From my perspective, I think the development has greatly assisted humans in our day-to-day lives regardless of a number of risks. Admittedly, sophisticated network unwittingly facilitates identity theft and online scams. The Internet is gradually turning into a platform where people can make purchases through their e-wallets or credit card, therefore, it exposes people's personal information to the risk of theft. Thanks to the recent development, perpetrators can easily steal a user's password if that person, for example, has visited a shopping website and enter his bank account PIN number. On a more serious note, confidential information about enterprises and nations can also be stolen in a similar vein. Nonetheless, the problem can be combatted by implementing stronger security systems and firewalls. Notwithstanding the aforementioned risk, the merits that this new advancement can be derived from by everyone. Firstly, the network increases public awareness in a way that it popularize reading news. For many young adults who grow up never enjoying the evening newsreels, recent development has made online newspapers more digestible by incorporating them into social media feeds. Increases access also provides the latest news at their fingertips, keeping them up-to-date with the changes. Secondly, the net has recently enabled the public to read scientific studies by publicizing them. This is especially helpful for those who could not acquire regular access to their local libraries or could not afford to buy the scientific publications. Take Harvard University as an example, it has decided to upload its research onto the homepage as a way to spread education. In conclusion, the Internet has revolutionized the way people search for information by making it more convenient and efficient. In spite of some of the potential drawbacks, we should put forward effective countermeasures to ward off any problem and make the most out of this ingenious invention.