Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons behind this view? What are the solutions to change it?

It is widely argued that global tourism has a negative impact on various aspects of the local countries. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this negative view before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle this problem. There are two primary reasons why local inhabitants often consider international tourism as a cause of many serious issues in their countries. One reason is that it may have an adverse bearing on traditional customs and indigenous practices. For example, while visiting Vietnam, some Western tourists could be rowdy and wear unsuitable clothing, which might have an undesirable influence on local young people who copy immodest or provocative behaviour and fashion. Another reason is that foreign visitors often pollute or litter tourist attractions. For instance, a variety of famous beaches in Vietnam, such as Cua Lo and Sam Son, have been spoiled because of this lack of respect for the local environment, which could have an adverse bearing on the living standard of the local dwellers. To combat this worrying concern, the following feasible steps should be taken. First and foremost, the unquestionable economic benefits of international tourism for local economies should be promoted widely through official media. As a result, local residents could be able to be aware of the pivotal role which global tourism plays in their lives, thereby making them change their oppositional attitudes towards global tourism. Furthermore, governing bodies should enforce strict regulations on the tourism industry. For example, they could impose heavy fines on those littering or polluting the local environment, which could protect the local environment from being contaminated by the irresponsible behaviour of tourists. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative perception towards international tourism, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to change this oppositional perspective.