Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children playing computer games?

The intensity of children and young people playing video games worries many doctors. Although playing computer games trains them to be more creative in problem-solving and they can learn programming in an engaging way, it possesses harmful effects such as being addicted and stressing the eye muscle. On the one hand, by completing a mission in a game, children learn to solve the problem in creative ways. Most video games deliver the mission to the player and in the beginning, they only provide a limited amount of resources. Hence, the players have to carefully plan their moves in order to achieve their goals as soon as they can. In addition, these days there are games that are specially designed to introduce basic programming theory to kids. Without realizing it, they learn useful knowledge by doing something they love. The teaching methods are very engaging, thus juveniles enjoy the learning process. For example, a start-up in Indonesia coins a programming game for children. They aim to introduce programming language in an interactive way. However, this phenomenon also has drawbacks such as kids being glued to their gadgets and playing computer games non-stop. This is because there is a designed feature that makes people stick with them and want to come back and play it again. For instance, in many games, there is a level system that challenges their players to keep climbing up. In order to do so, they have to play it to get higher scores and move forward to the next level. This system causes addictive effects. Moreover, having long screen time without a break will cause fatigue. The eye muscle is under stress because it has to focus all the time on the screen without having a moment to relax. This situation will cause a detrimental effect in the long run, take for example visual impairment due to lower elasticity in eye muscles. In conclusion, even though playing video games provides benefits such as training individuals’ problem-solving skills and learning programming through a fun method, it also possesses negative imprints such as difficulty in restraining screen time and causing fatigue to the eyes.