Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, as society developed and the demand for studying increases, some universities are currently providing online courses for pupils, and many people think this is a practical development. Personally speaking, I believe that this can bring some significant disadvantages on students. People are agreeing with this change because of its convenience, since these universities are offering the opportunity for their potential applicants who can not have the ability to travel abroad to study. Moreover, this is also beneficial for older people who do not have the opportunity to finish their studies or want to have a decent diploma but are too shy to attend lectures in person. For example, Michigans and Harvard universities are now offering a variety of courses for different majors on the edX website for scholars who are interested in their classes so they can have a brief overview of what they are going to see in their freshmen year. On the other hand of this issue, many found this is highly disturbing because many unethical organisations pretend to offer these courses from famous schools to trick users to buy their services without giving back any certified certificate or diploma. Furthermore, online classes raise a lot of concern for students because they believe that the quality of lessons is not as good as in-person classes since their teachers or professors do not reach out to their students as much by not answering emails. Therefore, pupils can not receive immediate help with their problems such as homework or assignment. For instance, during the pandemic, the academic program is forced to happen virtually and both teachers and scholars find it extremely difficult to interact with each other through Zoom or Microsoft Teams since the lectures are much less engaging. In conclusion, although offering online lectures can be seen as a helpful growth that comes with many leverages. However, this can also be seen as a negative development since there are too many potential drawbacks.