In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst the younger generation. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Recently, it has become common among youngsters to wear clothes dumped by others after their use. The principal reason for this phenomenon is the low price at which these clothes are sold, and I believe that such a trend is healthy for small businesses, selling those discarded items. One of the prime reasons why youngsters of today’s era are keen on wearing used garments is because of the cheaper rates at which they are purchased. It is inevitable that the prices of buying any cloth from exclusive stores have become quite expensive and not everyone is able to shop from these branded outlets. Therefore, young individuals interested in dressing up with impressive outlooks choose to purchase outfits from the stores which sell already worn clothes. By this,way they can fulfil their desire of wearing expensive products, yet at a minimal cost. For example, as most colleges in India allow their students to dress up casually, most of the children shop from second -hand stores to purchase clothes that they can wear at their educational institutions. According to my, purchasing from these stores enable small shops to earn money as otherwise people would save and buy from large multi- stores only. By shopping from small stores selling disowned products like t-shirts and jeans, owners of such businesses can support their families, which in turn is also helpful for the economy of the nation in the form of taxes. For instance, if there would be more consumers at stores for buying second -hand clothes, there will be more money collected at these shops, of which some amount will be shifted to the government for improving the nation’s infrastructure. In conclusion, although people able to afford expensive products may not like wearing already worn clothes, millennials who desire to own expensive garments can accomplish this by purchasing the dumped clothes at heavy discounts, which to some extent can also benefit small retailers financially.