Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the current era of globalisation, our world is becoming more and more advanced, thanks to the state-of-the-art technology. Therefore, some people are convinced that it is easy to establish connection between individuals and groups with the help of latest devices instead of using traditional ways such as letters, paper and pen and I certainly agree with them. With the help of latest communication technology and devices it is easier to establish connection and express ourselves. After availability of internet, there have been plenty of ways to communicate such as electronic mail, social media, mobile devices, messaging and so on. My friends always have too many applications on their mobile and are always available to respond. While the letters will take many days to arrive and then the response to that letter would be consuming additional time. In addition of the above, expressing someone’s emotions is also taken care by the invent of Video calling and makes life easier than earlier. With the help of video calling and conferencing the distance is really shortened and the communication can be real-time. For example, my parents while being at far place communicate on video calling on daily basis and it makes them satisfy. In conclusion, with the help of internet and modern ways of communication, connecting is easy, fast, confirmed, and secure. Hence, I would emphasize, that it is not only convenient but quick also to use the modern technology to converse instead of sharing letters. Due to all these reasons, it can also be considered that letters are slowly getting obsolete.