Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for poverty? What can be done to help the poor?

International organisations and countries around the world are trying as much as possible to eliminate poverty. As a matter of fact, each nation has different means of dealing with the less fortunate. Some of the key reasons I will discuss are marginalization and poor governance. In order to address this issue, historical injustices must be tackled by all means. One of the major causes of poverty is a failure in governance. Those in governing positions are failing to discharge their mandates and they are not addressing problems like unemployment. In most cases, funds meant to develop the country and create jobs for people are siphoned. In Kenya, for example, corruption is so rampant, and nothing is done by the government to prosecute those found culpable of stealing from the public coffers. In addition to the governance issue, marginalization is one aspect that is driving people to abject poverty. Some regions are left behind in terms of development, and a good example is the North Eastern counties in Kenya, where the government has not developed physical infrastructures like roads, water and electricity. So, the residents are not able to engage in any meaningful economic activities. To assist the poor, a wide variety of job opportunities should be availed so that they can be able to put food on their tables. Governments should ensure that they create enabling environment to attract investors who will end up creating jobs and employing thousands of people. Citizens, for example, can either be employed directly or indirectly within such businesses. Another thing that can be done is to ensure that people are connected to basic services like water and electricity. In rural places, for instance, the residents can open small-scale businesses to sustain themselves. To summarize, poor governance and marginalization of some communities within a particular country leads to poverty, hence, these issues must be tackled in order to achieve one of the goals of Sustainable Development Goals.