In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Governments in most countries consider economic growth as their top priority. The advantages to this are more job opportunities and foreign investments. The disadvantages to this are ignorance of humanitarian factors and environmental degradation. One advantage of the government's strong focus on the country's economy is an increase in job opportunities. This is achieved by introducing certain schemes and subsidies for organizations to run their businesses in a cost-effective way, thereby focusing on growth, and in-turn fueling recruitment. Following this, the country receives another advantage of an increase in direct foreign investments from venture capitalists and investment firms from first-world nations. This further helps small and medium-sized companies scale their operations, leading to production increase. As a result, consumption also increases, and more money gets circulated within the economy. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, the Indian government's strong focus on improving the inflation rate allowed investors to turn towards India for maximizing their profits, which further led to a better financial health of the country compared to the rest of the world. But, such government actions also come with disadvantages like an increase in social inequality. Rapid economic growth comes with a rise in wealth gaps, with the rich getting richer while the poor may not benefit equitably. Another disadvantage that follows is environmental degradation. In pursuit of higher economies of scale, environmental concerns are often sidelined leading to pollution, deforestation and loss of biodiversity. For instance, the Maharashtra government's 20-year plan to make the city of Mumbai the world's financial capital, came with increased investment in the real-estate sector, followed by mass construction of high-storied buildings throughout the city, resulting in record-high air pollution. In conclusion, the government's push to primarily better a country's economy has benefits like the inflow of more foreign capital and an increase in career opportunities, but it also has its disadvantages like a rise in wealth disparity and pollution.