Some people today prefer to get advice for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Albeit medicine has had progress in the last years, some people rather take care of their health through advice given by not professionals instead of making an appointment with a doctor. Physicians, who are specialized professionals, should be the first option once a piece of information can lead to damages. This essay will discuss why some individuals have this altitude and why it is can be considered a negative point. Many years ago, the population did not have the access and money to visit a doctor so that health was overlooked by ones. Some individuals gave more importance to advice and the experience of the life of other ones. For instance, even though the presence of physicians was considerable, the use of alternative ways such as teas, plants, and healers, who are people dedicated to curing injuries by means other than conventional medical treatment, was much more acceptable. Because of this thought, some individuals prefer to get advice for medical problems and not visit a physician. This attitude can look innocent, but most times can be incredibly dangerous due to lack of knowledge of person responsible by some judgment consequently can be a negative choice which leads to troubles. For example, a pregnant woman seeking information without checking with her physician, not only can jeopardize her health but also the well-being of the baby. Hence is so essential to look for specialized professionals, whereas only they can orientate and advise better options. The more aware men and women have, the better will be choices. In conclusion, technology improves the practice of medicine; however, some people prefer old traditions putting at risk their welfare. This essay argued about the reasons for this attitude and explained why it is considered not beneficial.