Some people think that some type of criminals should not go to prison. Instead, they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do we agree?

A certain amount of people think that some types of criminals should not be sent to prison. Instead, violations executed by them could be designated for unpaid community work as amercement. I completely agree with the given statement. To begin with, the reason for most of the crimes is unemployment, while most population work hard to earn a living, some choose to be lazy and look for unethical ways to earn wages. Small violations like pickpocketing, electronic theft, or running a gambling store which are less heinous, can be punishable with unpaid community services. People who are caught in such an act would come to a realisation of the effort required to endeavour a 9-hour shift and if capable could earn a living after lawfully completing their punishment. A fair example of this could be, a criminal who pickpockets a lot could end up sweeping the streets as trial. This could also help working full-time to earn a living, instead of performing a crime. On the other hand, yet another popular crime could be running a gambling store. Some populations believe this is the easiest way to earn. This immoral method could be solved by social work like organising food drives for the needy. Such a punishment could be helpful to realise the importance of earning capital legally and helping the masses would make beneficial use of the illegitimate money. An example of this could be, offenders who are apprehended, who could be penalized to organise food drives daily in places for the poor and needy for a certain amount of time. This in turn would make effective use of the earnings and they could be encouraged to start a small business as a street vendor. In conclusion, while some critics believe treating all criminals the same way is the right thing to do, I believe they deserve a second chance to focus on themselves and become better people. By volunteering they can change and earn a living ethically.