Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The controversial issue concerning whether secondary school children should study international news as an academic subject or not has gained huge public attention and sparked a heated debate. While done people hold the view that learning about global issues at school would prove to be beneficial in the long run, others argue that it is a waste of time. According to my perspective, it is redundant for teenagers to study international bulletins. The upcoming essay tends to discuss why I believe so. Undoubtedly, it is indispensable for people to read articles as it widens their horizons. But students already have a lot on their plates so burdening them with real-world troubles is inequitable. Including worldwide news in academics would greatly reduce the time spent on more crucial subjects like mathematics, physics and biology. Consequently, scholars would have limited knowledge about these topics and would get poor academic scores. Due to the average results, it would be difficult for them to get admitted to a top university. Additionally, bulletins comprise if diverse topics, such as politics, conflicts, natural catastrophes, etc. Some of these articles can be depressing and can have negative impacts on children's mental health. Children should always maintain a safe distance from politics but reading newspapers means getting exposed to them. On the other hand, stories of world conflicts can leave a long-lasting scar on their young souls. Similarly, some adolescents can find articles on environmental pollution heart-wrenching. For instance, a teenage girl from India committed suicide because she was upset about the rising levels of pollution and corruption. In her suicide note, she addressed the PM to take necessary steps to curb down these issues. To conclude, it is an indisputable fact that news enhances our knowledge about the world. But this does not mean that it should be related to education as scholars can read headlines from newspapers whenever they want. Therefore, I believe that it is a waste of valuable class time.