Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Equity between males and females has been a debatable issue during the past years including university acceptance. The equal split of the number of students of both sexes who should be accepted in university subjects has been raised several times. I totally disagree with that for two main reasons that will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, choosing a university subject is totally up to the person's choice according to his / her own preferences and has nothing to do with his / her gender. For example, males are more likely to choose subjects that have a high demand in the job market as business or engineering while females tend to go for schools that involve more mental than physical capacity as medicine or pharmacy and constrain from schools that require strenuous physical efforts as civil or petroleum engineering. The more someone knows what he / she wants to pursue after college, the more he / she knows what to choose in a university subject. Secondly, it is unfair to limit universities admissions to the number of genders who applies. This is going to oblige certain sex to apply for a school that he / she doesn't want just for knowing that he / she has more chance of getting accepted at this school because of the gender roles. In other words, a male might not apply for petroleum engineering for instance as he knows he will get rejected though he would excel in this because of this passion for it. In conclusion, the main driving force of someone's choice of a school subject is his/ her interests and has nothing to do with gender. Controlling the number of sexes in a school subject will deter students from what they want for the sake of getting accepted.