Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

The rapid increase in population of metropolitan areas requires an adequate housing solution for such growing residents. Some cities solve the problem with the provision of taller apartment buildings. Meanwhile, others plan to expand outward, and this solution should be considered as a more optimal one. The essay would provide some evidences to strengthen such argument. Considering the measure of building more high-rise apartment blocks, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits of this solution. It is undeniable that taller buildings can contain more households at the same given space by having more floors, which saves a large amount of space. However, such residential buildings occupied means the population density per square increases, which could lead to some consequences such as the traffic jam due to the high commuting rate. Moreover, when the buildings depreciate by the time, it poses several potential problems. One problem is that the maintaining expenditure of such building is high, which is costly for both residents and tenders. Moreover, the safety of residents could be threatened if the maintenance is not done properly. Meanwhile, the solution of relocating residential areas to wider areas poses significant advantages. Firstly, it would decrease the total population density, which means the traffic density, especially in metropolitan areas, is also reduced. Moreover, residents in such area enjoy better living conditions in terms of environmental quality with more space and less exposure to air as well as noise pollution. However, it is also notable that this solution is only possible if the authorities provide (good) public transportation network and traffic infrastructure so that the commutation needs of the residents are satisfied. In conclusion, while constructing higher building for increasing population is a reasonable solution for cities with limited land fund, the measure of moving people to wider areas shows more sustainable benefits, but also require more proper planning.