Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

It is true that national and local authorities have adopted different policies to meet the increasing housing needs of their populations. While some favour high-rise apartment blocks, others prefer to see their cities expand outwards. I would argue that the best solution is to allow cities to expand in a planned and organised way. On the one hand, there are advantages and disadvantages of constructing tower blocks to provide housing in cities. A city may have little space to expand for geographical reasons such as a coastline, mountains or lakes, and therefore tall buildings are the only option if demand for more housing is to be satisfied. In addition, if more people live in tall apartment blocks, housing will be more affordable, as only a small area of land is required. However, the major drawback is that city districts with a large population housed in a small area suffer from overcrowding and noise. Thus, while the construction of apartment towers to provide more housing may sometimes be the only practical alternative, such districts may not always be pleasant to live in. On the other hand, expansion of a city to provide more housing is probably a better solution. The major drawback is such expansion may not be environmentally friendly if it means habitat destruction and loss of wildlife when more land is needed for building. Despite this, the construction of houses in suburbs provides a much more pleasant, green and healthy environment for people. It may mean longer commuting times for people to reach their workplace, but cities like London and New York have met this challenge by expanding and upgrading public transport provision. In conclusion, although both solutions have drawbacks, building on wider areas of land provides a better living space for people.