Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

There has been progressively contentious that elderly people cannot acclimate to newly developed technologies, particularly the constantly updated versions of smartphones and computers every year. In my opinion, whilst the key catalyst for this is primarily the novel nature of the computer revolution, educators should take the ultimate responsibility. The most frequently cited rationale for causing the trouble is that computers and the Internet are fundamentally novel. To explain this, using computers necessitates assorted skills, which are completely foreign to individuals, who had not been trained 30 years ago. One of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in a wide breadth of processes to master basic functions of computers such as logging in, setting up online accounts, troubleshooting IT problems and downloading programs. For youths, these can be accomplished in a matter of seconds but they can be overwhelming for the old, who might take days or weeks to memorise. The accumulated evidence has reasoned why our former generation cannot keep up with the surging pace of technological devices and the general populace eventually points to the demand for appropriate training. Albeit I concede the barrier like the one mentioned, I would contend that the best reform to overcome this relates to education. Despite myriad training courses available on this subject, old people would require exclusively training programs for themselves, which provide comprehensive explanations and patience for them to thoroughly catch up. This can be most apparently seen in some training offered by Microsoft held in the countryside aimed at people over 50, who have disparate purposes for computers. These can be either they are motivated to connect with their family members from a distance or simply they merely want to acquire a new skill to spend their retirement. Had this type of program been replicated across the board, this would have enhanced the diversionary experience of the elderly using computers and other devices. Soon, this will make advanced technologies accessible to everyone and reinforce the notion of IoT (Internet of Things). In conclusion, while old people cannot comprehend the way computers and other technologies work as they continuously shift upwards, offering sufficient training on IT can do wonders for the improvement of the situation. In my final thought, product suppliers and educators should propose a more holistic approach in order to educate all age brackets to effortlessly use technologies.