Using a computer everyday can have negative effects, rather than positive on children. To what extent do you agree.

With the advancements in technology, the computer has become an inevitable part of everyone's life, especially children. Children who use computers on a daily basis seem to have various demerits instead of merits. This essay agrees with this statement since it may have a far-reaching impact on their health and academics. Firstly, the excessive usage of computers has negative effects on children's health. Exposure to lights from computer screens might cause vision impairment. Moreover, these people would be mostly confined to their homes by engaging in any sort of video game. Therefore, they may not be indulging in any outdoor activities and leading a sedentary life which may lead to obesity. Apart from this, they would not be having any interaction with their parents and peer groups due to which they may lack social communication skills or interpersonal skills. Thus, it is evident that excessive usage of computers results in many health and personality issues. Secondly, academics is another area in which children suffer owing to addiction to computers. These pupils would easily get addicted to various sorts of digital games which easily paves the way to get distracted from their studies. Meaning, children would not be focussing on their academic curriculum which may lead to a decline in scores in their formal examination. This, in turn, results in ruining their career. Therefore, addiction to computers may even destroy the future of these kids. After analysing various aspects of the topic, it could be concluded that overuse of computers has a far-reaching negative impact on children ’s fitness and education. Thus it is recommended that parents and teachers should effectively monitor the usage of this device by children.