Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

There is no doubt that youngsters are under tremendous strain these days as they are expected to excel in every aspect of life. Studies, extracurricular activities and careers to name these three, are required to outperform from childhood to adolescence. There are several reasons for this worrisome trend and in this essay, I will discuss its causes and some possible solutions. There are many factors to the youth’s stressful growth. The major is the parental burden to outshine in academics. As many parents believe that high grades in academics are the only way to be successful in life, they give undue importance to their studies. Adding to it, they also have to actively participate in extracurricular activities. This is because some juveniles have hidden talents and can benefit from getting into prestigious educational institutions. For instance, in the UK, the entrance exam of 11 plus not only select on the basis of academic excellence but also music and sports abilities of the applicants. Hence, offspring have to cope with the stress given by their parents along with the hectic schedule of school life. There are, however, some options to alleviate the tension on the students and it involves parents ’ co-operation. They need to understand that children are too young to cope with pressure and need shielding from unwanted stress. Indeed, parents need to realize that too much expectation can result in disappointment and a sense of failure if not achieved as desired. Instead, they need to set realistic goals and ambitions. Another point is that adolescent should spend their energy on the things that truly matter. For example, offspring interested in music should focus on singing or dance classes rather than coaching academic classes. Similarly, those who are not very sporty should be allowed to skip sports practice. These steps would help in mitigating the stress level in children. To conclude, although parental expectation to achieve in academics and in extracurricular activities and the future outcomes have an appalling effect on children. In my opinion, the awareness of this to parents and childrens’ life management according to their interest can help in alleviating this problem.