In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In recent times gap years had a significant impact on people's lives. It is a highly debatable issue whether there are many benefits to students to work or travel before starting university, or whether it has drawbacks to pupils. From my perspective, I believe that the beneficial effects of taking one year overpower the detrimental ones. This essay will outline the merits and demerits followed by my opinion.  On the one hand, there are a few frequent disadvantages to a gap year. first, It has been linked to many mental health issues. People could suffer from stress and anxiety due to the leisure time. A good example here is my friend Fatma who complained about the long time she spent when she was waiting for the University. So, it increased the pressure and depression. Second, without working or studying, students can do many bad things. They can commit some crimes such as theft to get money. On the other hand, there are many advantages to taking a year between finishing high school and starting University studies plays a vital role in investing money. Students will have a chance to work as a part-time. For example, there are various jobs like working in restaurants, shops or any simple tasks to gain some money. As a result, it promotes financial purposes that help the students to complete their studies. Another advantage to be considered is that if individuals have enough time to think about their suitable careers, potentially they may work more efficiently. Thus, it contributes to an increased sense of satisfaction. In conclusion, a gap year is an essential step for students. I agree that the advantages of this phenomenon are outweigh the disadvantages. Gaining money and increasing health benefits are the major causes. Therefore, the idea of studying immediately after school should be stopped. The governments have a priority to encourage people to have a rest before studying.