Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and school have open space design instead of seperate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think it is a positive development or negative?

In this decade, buildings have more styles than in the past. Therefore, I think this revolution is a positive development because it can encourage architects' ideas to not be stuck with conventional styles. The earlier buildings designs might not suitable for some people. Moreover, children can learn several skills because of an open plan design. There are not only lecture rooms, but also fields for playing sports. Firstly, the previous architecture of the building looks ordinary and not interesting for some people who saw it. Due to an open plan design, architects can fully put their creativity and ideas in the plan designs. For example, in the past, some restaurants had an area that was only for eating, but now these restaurants add several zones such as a park and photo zones to make the place interesting. It can attract customers with attractive designs. Secondly, some buildings are not built to facilitate all people, and this can be an issue. For instance, most companies did not have toilets for female employees which was inconvenient for them. Then when having the open- plan designs, there are equal toilets for both sexes in buildings. Moreover, some companies give their employees special rooms which separate men and women in different rooms. Thirdly, nowadays, the school is not the place where students learn only academic skills, but it should provide physical skills. Development of the building, especially in school, can encourage children to learn life skills instead of studying only academic skills such as mathematics. Some schools have football fields where children are allowed to use after school classes for relaxing. Thus, this development is beneficial to child development. In conclusion, the open plan design is a positive development. It has several advantages. There are more buildings which are more suitable for people than in the past. In addition, architects can design more creative and attractive buildings.