Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in man-made environments should no longer exist in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that zoos, where animal species are kept in artificial habitats, should be closed down and banned in the contemporary world. However, I totally disagree with this view since I strongly believe that zoos play a vital role in protecting animals. First of all, I hold a firm belief that compared to the wildlife environment, zoos can be considered as safer places for animal species, especially those under threat from extinction. It is undeniable that wild animals living in natural habitats may be put at several serious risks such as being hunted by predators, suffering from food scarcity or being poached by humans. This can be exemplified by deers who are preyed on by meat-eating animals like lions or tigers and can be killed by poachers to get horns and meat. Otherwise, when wild animals are raised in zoos, they can be fed a nutritious diet on a daily basis and taken care of by medical experts. Some animal rights activists hold an argument that keeping animals in cages can negatively affect them since animals can suffer from stress or depression and lose their instincts. I have to admit that in some cases, wild animals cannot get used to the freedom restriction as well as new man-made environments, so they get ill and lose appetite, which leads to starvation and death. However, people nowadays are more environmentally- conscious and fully aware of the importance of other species in the ecosystem. Therefore, many zoos all over the world are strictly scrutinized by governments or international organizations to make sure that the living conditions are suitable and good for specific species’ survival. In conclusion, I am not in favour of the objection to zoos as I argue that zoos these days can ensure animals ’ development and safety as well as benefit humans in many different ways.