Write about the following topic: Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by some people that waste from houses is not recycled adequately and think the only method to enhance recycling is to enact laws by the authorities. While the laws are crucial for the increased recycling, I do not agree with this notion and believe other factors like behaviour modification is vital to make individuals realize the importance of recycling. Behaviour modification plays a key role in persuading people to recycle unwanted material and leads to a clean environment. People start collecting waste with enthusiasm when the thought process is augmented by an educational approach. This can be taught in educational institutes or shared on social medical platforms. In addition, print and electronic are instrumental in forming the opinion about recycling. For example, China infused large funds to motivate the masses to recycle waste and resultantly 20% rise in recycling was witnessed last year. On the other hand, the legal requirement is an important factor to make the public recycle more. They will do it, fearing heavy fines and possible legal action against the culprits. This approach will have its dividends paid off in a short span, however, this does not involve a change in conduct and thought process. For instance in India, a law was implemented to find the individuals who will dispose of garbage in the open and initially the percentage of household recycling rose but it waned with time. Hence, this model is not sustainable and they return to the previous practice of throwing garbage without its treatment. In conclusion, although legal requirements will make an impact on recycling practice, they will not be sustainable without attitude therapy and educational approaches.