More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work, such as teaching and building houses for communities in poorer countries. What are the reasons for this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

It is true that in recent years, youngsters in developed countries are spending their time doing voluntary work in less developed nations. There are some reasons behind this tendency, and both local communities and these young people are benefiting from this. There are some reasons why the young have allocated their time to do philanthropic activities. Firstly, by taking part in voluntary activities, they can gain valuable experience and skills, and they can put them into their CVs when seeking new jobs. Thus, it can help them improve their employment prospects and have an easy time having a job. In addition, through philanthropic work, they can try their hands in different fields. So, they have an oppỏtunity to find what suits them best. Secondly, those who want to help people without receiving rewards. And giving donations can bring them a true happiness and a sense of satisfaction. Voluntary work brings tangible benefits to society and the young. In terms of local communities, youngsters bring their enthusiasm, knowledge as well as a physical endeavour. For example, they can teach children literacy and numerical skills or help disabled people to construct new houses or renovating existing buildings. In terms of the youngsters, through philanthropic acts, young people become more mature when they return home and can learn how to live independently in a new country. As in remote areas, parents can not help them when they are out of money or in danger. In conclusion, more and more young people should be encouraged to participate in voluntary work. It is a win-win situation.